"Wonderful and memorable trip!!"
Annelise Hansen:  5 out of 5 stars, April 17, 2018

​​I decided to travel alone for the first time, but never felt unsafe as a female traveler. Said is a very open and honest person and has been working as a guide for a long time in the Usamabara Mountains with tons of knowledge about the region's history and ecology. He's a good storyteller too! I was provided delicious vegetarian meals, sighted several happy chameleons, and was hosted by very welcoming guesthouses during my four day trip! He will hike with you for however fast or slow you wish to go and he is happy to be flexible with the schedule if you wish to alter your hiking route. With no doubt if you choose to hike with Said as your guide, you will be very happy with your decision.


"Excellent 2 week custom made tour with Said-Safari and Hiking"
Sally E: 5 out of 5 Stars, Reviewed January 14, 2018

My boyfriend and I recently went on a tour with Said for nearly 2 weeks in the lead up to Christmas. It was a great experience. Said was very professional, helpful and an incredibly knowledgable guide. We organised the trip simply by emailing Said directly after reading positive tripadvisor reviews. Our safari was for 7 days with just the two of us as guests, visiting the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Lake Manyara and Tarangire. Said was unbelievably knowledgable about the wildlife we saw and gave us an experience very different from other safaris where drivers just pointed at animals without giving much information about them. In addition to having Said with us as the guide on the safari, we had a driver who was also an expert in birds, which made a wonderful unexpected addition to the trip. We really enjoyed visiting the Usambara mountains as it was extremely quiet and felt much less touristy than other parts of Tanzania (we saw only one other traveller in our 3 day hike there). The bushbaby homestay where we stayed one night on the hike was a great view into a traditional way of living. We enjoyed traveling with a genuine, small Tanzanian company through Said. We would definitely recommend sending him an email and working out a trip option with his company!​

"Trek with Said"
Henry W.: 5 out of 5 stars, Reviewed December 7, 2017

What an amazing trek! Said and I did the Lushoto - Mtae trek in 2 days, hiking about 25km a day and taking motorbikes the rest of the way. Said has an extremely intimate knowledge of the twists and turns of the Usambaras, and I felt like I truly got to see a part of the mountains that were off the beaten path. I cannot recommend Said enough, he was an extremely professional, flexible and wonderful guide. If you're going to do a trek in the Usambaras, do yourself a favor and go with Said.​

"Great experience for body and mind"
florian scharpf: 5 out of 5 stars, Reviewed November 23, 2017

As I unexpectedly had some free time due to a project deleay, I decided to spend some days hiking in Usambara mountains. I contacted Said very spontaneously one day before my departure but he was willing to guide me and sent me a detailed plan of a possible itinerary. When I arrived in Lushoto, he picked me up and we went for a hike to Irente View Point with a great view over the plains. The next day in the morning we started our three days hike to Mtae. This was probably the best thing I did after having been in Tanzania for 2 months. Said is not only a very competent guide whose knowledge about Usambara`s flora, fauna, people and culture seems limitless, he is also a great guy, very humble, kind and open-minded. The tour provided a unique balance of physical activity and immersion into local culture. I think I learned a lot about the Sambaa people through Saids explanations and simply interacting with them. The accommodations on our way were clean and cozy, especially Bush Baby Homestay was a perfect retreat. The food there and also in the other places was delicious. I can only recommend you to do the tour with Said as he will not offer you the usual package that many other tour companies in the region offer. He will individualize the trip according to your wishes and preferences, making it an unforgettable acitivity.​​
​​​"Top notch guide and remarkable off-the-beaten-path experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said about Said Salim and the amazing Usambara Mountain region? My wife and I were backpacking through East Africa and wanted to get a bit off the tourist trail after two weeks on Zanzibar. Trekking with Said Salim far surpassed our expectations and has definitely been one of the highlights of our trip, overall.

After doing a bit of online research, I contacted Said via email about arranging a private 4-day trek through the Western Usambara and he replied very promptly with availability, pricing and other information. We thought the pricing was quite reasonable for 4days/4nights all-inclusive trekking with a private guide. Said originally offered to pick us up at the bus station in Lushoto, but we declined thinking that our lodge and the station were very close (but please note, they have moved the bus station 2km south of town, so you would definitely want to take advantage of this offer!).

Said came and met us at our lodge after breakfast on the morning of the first day and we set out from Lushoto. Aside from being from, and knowing his way, around the area, he was a wealth of knowledge regarding the history, origins, culture, language, flora and fauna and whatever else you'd like to know about the region. His English was excellent and he was able to anticipate the needs of his clients very well, but still seemed very flexible and very open to customization. He had stunning scenic spots pre-selected for lunch-time, where he ran ahead to prepare our meal from scratch (delicious (and surprisingly filling!) veggie wraps). In addition, we found him to be very respectful of people and nature.

Overall, I would highly recommend Said Salim and the Usambara Mountains for those looking to have a truly unique cultural/outdoors experience in a stunning part of the world.

"Incredible hike in the Usambara mountains"
Martha B.: 5 out of 5 stars, Reviewed November 18, 2017

We had an incredible time and thought Said was a wonderful guide. Really knowledgeable but also just fun to be around, easygoing, and super accommodating.

Our three days together was a highlight of many many trips across sub-Saharan Africa...I'd encourage anyone to take the time to visit this breathtakingly beautiful part of Tanzania.

We made sure to talk to Said in advance about our expectations in terms of distance, amount of time spent hiking, etc., and those were met. Our lodging was basic but clean, friendly, and -- most importantly -- had hot water for showers!

Said has an almost mystical ability to spot chameleons and we got to see tons along the way...he also knows literally everyone, including the hundreds of kids who met us as we passed.

A great trip, and one I hope to do again.

​​"By the way"
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

​​If you find yourself in Northern Tanzania for an extended period of time, we’d highly recommend our guide, Said Salim, who came highly recommended to us. Besides being an excellent guide and good guy, his treks are unique and very good value for the money.


​​​“Breathtaking tour through Usambara mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Me, my brother and parents did the 4 days hiking through the Usambara mountains with Said. In one word the trip was breathtaking!

We did not completely knew what to expect, what would the scenery be like, the food, the accomodation, but it was to me the best we could get.

Said is a very nice guy and it was a pleasure to be guided by him. It was nice to talk to him during the walks, he explained a lot about the surroundings and the trees and plants and he was able to spot the chameleons from far away.
We walked through several villages, had amazing views in between, played with the many kids we met along and the food and accomodation were also very good. Some basic, but at a perfect and special location. And we were the only tourists, so that is nice!
The last day we went to a traditional Masai village, which was very interesting and a nice supplement to the trip.

I would recommend this trip to everyone who visits Tanzania!

Visited August 2014

“Beautiful scenic and cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 July 2014
We hiked the Usambaras for 4 days with Said Salim as our guide in June 2014. We went Lushoto - Mambo in 3 days with the 4th day back to Lushoto to Irente viewpoint.
We hadn't organised anything in advance, and Said met us with one day's notice and went through a recommended itinerary with us then organised our departure for the following day. He also arranged our accommodation in Lushoto at a good and cheap place.
We loved the trip. The mountains, forest, farming and village views are beautiful but the highlight has to be the people and especially the children you meet along the way.
Said took us mostly on rural tracks, not the roads as it is a better experience.
Our last night was staying at Mambo viewpoint (not the Eco lodge - the other one) which meant that we had stunning views from the windows of our accommodation. I agree with Said that it was definitely better than staying the final night in a Mtae guesthouse! Other nights were spent at a guesthouse and a convent.
All of this was very reasonably priced.
Said's English is fantastic and he is very knowledgeable about everything. We gained so much insight into the rural way of life and beliefs as well as nature. His lunches are also great.
This trip was right up there with our highlights of Tanzania and is a must for those more adventurous travellers.

Visited June 2014

“Said is an amazing tour guide!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2014
In December 2013, my friend and myself were lucky enough to spend 11 fantastic days with Said Salim of Usambara Adventures. We had found his tour company online and been in contact with him organising a personalised itinerary for our trip to Tanzania. He was able to cater to our needs and organised an excellent tour that combined three days of safari with five days of hiking in the mountains and a few nights stay in Arusha either side.

When we first flew in to Tanzania, Said met us at the airport and together we drove to Arusha where we all had dinner and he explained all the little details of our tour and what we were likely to see. The next morning we started on three days of safari - it was amazing!!! We spent time in Tirengire National Park, Lake Manyara National Park and Ngorongoro crater and saw so many animals. Both Said and our driver Omari were excellent at spotting animals at incredibly far distances. They were also incredibly knowledgeable about the plants and animals we encountered. We camped each night whilst on safari and were served delicious food each night by our cook, Rafa.

After safari we embarked on our hike and has a wonderful five days. Each day Said would tell us more and more about the history of the area - we learnt a lot about Tanzania and its culture. We stayed each night in lovely lodges and ate delicious local food. Playing with the local village children each day was definitely a highlight.

After our hike was over Said came with us on a local bus all the way to Dar Es Salaam to make sure we got to our next destination safely. We loved our tour with Said and saw some unbelievably amazing things with him. He is a fantastic guide - very knowledgeable and friendly and concerned with your needs and comfort. I cannot recommend him, and Usumbara Adventures, enough.


"A Phenomenal 11 Days with Said Salim"
​In December 2013, my friend and myself were lucky enough to spend 11 fantastic days with Said Salim of Usambara Adventures. We had found his tour company online and been in contact with him organising a personalised itinerary for our trip to Tanzania. He was able to cater to our needs and organised an excellent tour that combined three days of safari with five days of hiking in the mountains and a few nights stay in Arusha either side.

When we first flew in to Tanzania, Said met us at the airport and together we drove to Arusha where we all had dinner and he explained all the little details of our tour and what we were likely to see. The next morning we started on three days of safari - it was amazing!!! We spent time in Tirengire National Park, Lake Manyara National Park and Ngorongoro crater and saw so many animals. Both Said and our driver Omari were excellent at spotting animals at incredibly far distances. They were also incredibly knowledgeable about the plants and animals we encountered. We camped each night whilst on safari and were served delicious food each night by our cook, Rafa.

After safari we embarked on our hike and has a wonderful five days. Each day Said would tell us more and more about the history of the area - we learnt a lot about Tanzania and its culture. We stayed each night in lovely lodges and ate delicious local food. Playing with the local village children each day was definitely a highlight.

After our hike was over Said came with us on a local bus all the way to Dar Es Salaam to make sure we got to our next destination safely. We loved our tour with Said and saw some unbelievably amazing things with him. He is a fantastic guide - very knowledgeable and friendly and concerned with your needs and comfort. I cannot recommend him, and Usumbara Adventures, enough.


​​
“Usambara cultural tour and Mt Meru trek with Said--fun & interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013
I found Said Salim and his company, Usambara Adventures to be very reliable and responsive. I traveled in Africa for 6 weeks observing & hiring various "guides". Said is an exceptional, educated professional and serious about the quality of his work. I learned a lot and felt safe. Said's base in the agricultural Usambara Mts and support for village school children provides a glimpse of a basic, warm,and vibrant Tanzanian culture. And I was able to combine this walking tour with spectacular hiking on Mt Meru in Arusha National Park which includes wildlife viewing. Bus rides between the two locations are part of the cultural experience. Said is fluent in African languages, English, and German. He has a good sense of humor and strives to meet his individual client's needs. From Said, I learned that avacado and banana taste delicious together rolled up in chiapati bread while sipping mango juice!
Visited October 2013

“Perfect hiking tour with an excellent guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 
Very spontaneously, me and my friend decided to do a three-days hiking trip from Lushoto to Mambo in the Usambara Mountains. This was no problem for Said and so he organised everything very quickly and absolutely perfectly. He guided us to amazing viewpoints, through beautiful forests and beautiful villages, where we also discovered local life. Also, the food in the lovely accomodations was the best we ever had in Tanzania! Said was an amazing guide, explained us everything we wanted to know and just wanted us to have an unforgettable time! It was one of our best trips in Tanzania and we can recommend Said to everyone who wants to have an adventurous safari!
Visited December 2013

​​"Just Great"

​​In June 2013, my boyfriend, his father and I spent three wonderful days trekking in the Usambara Mountains with Said, as part of a two week trip to Tanzania. It was a highlight of our visit! Said met us at the bus station - very good, as if he hadn't we would have had lots of other guides offering their services, and we can't imagine anyone else could have been as great a guide as Said. He designed a brilliant itinerary for us, - meeting us after breakfast at the lodge we stayed in and then an idyllic walk through the hills to a convent high in the mountains, where we stayed the night. The next day we hiked through mountain villages and learnt so much about the local environment and culture - Said was so knowledgable, having grown up in the area himself. He could name all the plants, landscapes, gave us a great summary of Tanzanian history and could spot wildlife from miles off!

After watching the sunset high up in a mountain village and staying in a small guest house the second night, we woke early and returned to Lushoto, where we climbed to a viewing point from where we could see a wonderful view of the Valley, and then had a feast of cheese, chutneys and rye bread at a local biodiversity farm. It was a perfect itinerary, and we only wish we had had more time with Said and on the hike!

I would unhesitatingly recommend Said's treks to anyone - well worth the journey to the Usambara. Also, having met and spoken to other guides and the tourists with them, we felt certain that Said's trek was by far the best! He is the longest serving guide in the area, and knows routes the other guides don't. Also, where other guides take their guests to 'cultural craft' exhibits - where there is pressure to buy souvenirs, Said only took us to a local market, where we were able to enjoy the atmosphere with no pressure to purchase.

Finally, Said is a remarkable man. Having been ended up on the streets of Arusha at the age of 9, he went on to graduate from university, learn many languages and run his tour guide business. He now works to improve the lives of local children, and - he modestly told us - runs a computer training scheme for them."

​​
“Go to the Usambara mountains and take Said Salim as your guide!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013
The Usambara mountains are beautiful, I'd soooo recommend them! Went with my boyfriend last month and loved it! We walked for 5 days with Said Salim. Said is brilliant, he sorted out everything! He picked us up from Dar and we went together by bus to Lushoto. He had booked nice guesthouses for us and was such a friendly knowledgeable guide- we talked about local plants, history, politics and traditions- amazing! And such beautiful views! We really loved it, definitely go!

​​
“Said Salim, the guide who made my safari the best!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013
I left alone for Tanzania, where I made a 3 days safari across ngorongoro crater,tarangire and lake manyarg national parks! A guide I had in a previous expedition gave me Said Salim' number, owner of the Usambara Adventures (a Tanzanian tour and safari company - http://www.usambaraadventures.com/index.html - or should I say the best one).

I call him on a very short notice and explained him I was alone and had a very limited budget. With out any remarks on the short delay, he presented me the best plan I could have found respecting all my constraints!

Sawing the other groups and jeeps, I can tell I definetly had the best guide! I had a wonderful experience! He always did his best to find as many animals as he could, while respected the animals and the parks. He was so knowledgeful and provided numerous information about each animal. The whole trip he listened to my demands (like starring longer at an animal) and proposed me different options.

Kind, friendly, professional, experienced and knowledgeable, that's how I would describe him. Furthermore, he uses a part of the profit to reinvest it in the Tanzaninan community (which I testified myself!).

Really the best choice! If you are going to Tanzania, call him! He does not only do safaris, but all kind of expeditions and can take you in charge directly from the airport! And really fair prices!

Thank's again!!!
Visited May 2013


​​
“4 Day Family Trek with Said Salim was Outstanding”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 NEW
We did a four day trek with Said Salim from Usambara Adventures and it was fabulous. We hiked one way from Lushoto to Matae staying in a few towns on the way. The accomodations are very basic (most villages have no running water or electricity) but everything was clean. We did not have sleeping bags as Said had arranged for sheets and blankets at each place and they were warm, clean and plentiful. The food also was great (really miss Said's guacamole). The walks each day were not that hard (and we are not big hikers and included two kids, 11 and 13) and it was so nice to really feel like we were part of rural life. Views were also great and people so nice and friendly every where we went. Said was so knowledgable about the plants and farming techniques and always had something fascinating to say about everything we saw. He could answer all of our questions (his English is perfect). Most of all, he is a genuine nice person who really is enthusiastic about teaching people about his area of Tanzania. Price was also incredibly reasonable.​

​​
“Just back from a 4 day hiking! at Usambara with Said Salim. We loved the experience!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013
We arrived in Lushoto where Said was waiting for our hiking briefing. He knows the mountains, their ecology, Tanzania and Lushoto history, politics and he is very well versed in all kind of topics that makes for a great story telling that provided a good distraction when hiking up the mountains. We did not know how good was Said until we crossed paths with another couple whose guide was really unprepared and just a companion rather than a guide. Said organized the accommodation and food and we enjoyed very tasty local flavors.

​​
"Fantastic Trip with Said Salim”
Reviewed February 21st, 2013

​​We had a wonderful time trekking through the Usambara mountains with our amazing guide: Said Salim. The landscapes are breathtaking, the people are welcoming, and we just had the best time. Our guide Said really made the trip for us. He was really easy going, had lots of good local knowledge and stories to share and was generally a great guy to be around. He is always smiling and upbeat, and a very gentle soul that was a pleasure to be around.

We trekked for 10 days with Said in the Usambaras. He also organized a 10 day safari for us through 5 different national parks. All of it was a great success. The driver and cook he hired for the safari were experienced and great guys to hang out with. The food we ate was well beyond our expectations and we could not help but put a few too many pounds on. We travelled for 5 months this past year, and the trip to Tanzania and the time spent with Said, was hands down our favourite of it all.

If you are thinking of a trip to Tanzania and don't want to book with a larger tour group, I would highly recommend Said. He will customize a trip to meet your needs and you will not regret it!! He is a great guy who gives back to his communities, drop him a line!


"Good walks and great help”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 

We spend a couple of days in Irente (just outside Lushoto) and Said took us on two day trips in the Usambara Mountains. He knows just everything about the trees and plants on the way, as well as about the history of Lushoto and its surroundings. He was all you would expect from a good guide; informative, helpful, never intrusive and adapting to our (slow) pace. Not to forget; is lunch is perfect. But what absolutely did it for us was the fact that he voluntarily (lent) us money when we ran out of it on our final day. We would highly recommend him and his company, more so since he's truly committed to supporting those in need with his earnings.

​​
“Wonderful hiking with the best guide ever”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We met Said Salim in Lushoto and he offered us plenty of different choices among which we could choose the best option according to our expectations and the available time. We hike among Usambara mountains, departing from Lushoto and reaching Mtae. We learned a lot about local tribes' culture, animals and plants. During our hiking we could see very beautiful and unique landscapes, welcoming people and cheerful children. We had the chance to interact with local people and we even learn how they cook. Said was our guide and thanks to him it was a very enriching experience, he was very kind and taking a very good care of two of us always prioritizing our expectations over anything else. He is a very experienced and professional guide, the best we have ever met!!

​​
“Beautiful walk with Said”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on a day trip hiking through Usambara Mountains starting in Lushoto. Said (Usambara Adventures) took us to a beautiful walk. He also picked us up at the bus station the day before which was pretty nice! He's a great guide and I would highly recomend to visit Lushoto and meet up with Said there!

​​
“Hiking with Said Salim's Guides”

Reviewed August 17, 2012
I highly recommend arranging a hike with Said Salim's company, Usambaraadventures. My guide's name was Musa and he was absolutely wonderful. Extremely knowledgeable about the area and full of interesting stories. Some of the hikes can be quite long and difficult (if you're hideously out of shape like me), and Musa was great at pacing the hike and knowing without being told when to slow down, stop, or take a break. He is also the perfect combination of talkative and quiet. If you hike with Usambaraadventures, I enthusiastically recommend Musa as your guide.

“Hiking the usambara mountains with Said Salim”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I wanted to write about the great experience we had going on a hike through the amazing Usumbara mountain with Said Selim. He answered every single question I asked by email before arriving. Once there, he was waiting for us at the bus station and took us to our hotel for a last discussion about the hike. Then we went on a wonderful 3 days hike, he knew everything about the plants, the history, the culture of the region. He explained every thing and answered all the questions with patience and always smiling. He loves his region, his job, and we can see it.

Far from the big touristic experience you can have in Tanzania. We went through the forest, and villages where the always smiling children would come and speak with us, never asking for money, only wanting to share a moment (even though if you bring them candies and pen they are more than happy!). The still traditional villages are ful of colours and the life there seems peaceful and quiet.

Plus, we saw many monkeys unlike the other few tourists we met that haven t seen any!!!

I would totally recommend Lushoto with Said Salim!


​​
"I would recommend spending time with Said in the Usambaras to anyone who is interested in this type of active and interactive vacation."
Reviewed 30 August 2012

​​
For our honeymoon we spent 3 weeks in Tanzania. We spent 4 days and 4 nights hiking with Said and both agree this was the best part of the whole trip. We went on a safari and spent time on Zanzibar which were nice, but the nothing compared to the time we spent in the Usambaras. Said was very helpful in the planning stages and planned a great route. We hiked through the rainforest the first day and spent the night in Lukozi at a local guest house. The next day we hiked to Rangwi where we stayed at the convent and the 3rd day we hiked to Mtae with our route passing through a town where the local market was in full swing. We spent two nights in Mtae and we took a short hike to Mtae Mtii the last day. We were blown away by the beauty of the area, the views and the amazing hill farms. We loved being off the electric grid and taking warm bucket showers.

Said entertained us with the history of the area, he is a Grade A story teller. He made great lunches and arranged for great meals otherwise in local places.

All lodging and meals were arranged with local places that he has worked with to make sure the food is prepared correctly so we wouldn't get sick. Said is great at helping facilitate engagement with all the children and other folks we passed. He was knowledgable about the history, plants and animals throughout the area. He was awaiting our arrival and was helpful in facilitating our transportation on leaving.

​​
“Amazing 3 Days Hiking the Usambara Mountains With Said”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We diverted our trip to Zanzibar to meet Said for a 3 day hike through the Usambara Mountains. I can't tell you how great our trip was. Each day we encountered beautiful villages, scenic valley's, epic landscape views from atop the mountain and fertile farm land. It was really the highlight to our trip and I'll return to take another journey with Said, he offers so many options. I am a photographer and this trip really made my job easy due to how beautiful it was. Said is such a pleasant person and very knowledgeable about the local history and agriculture. 10 out of 10 trip!

​​“Awesome trekking in beautiful Usambara with guide Said Salim”

I spent 4 days trekking the Usambara Mountains with local guide Said Salim. It was surely one of the highlights of my trip to Tanzania, beautiful scenery, friendly people and the chance to see and experience life in the local villages.  Said was very knowlegeable, trustworthy and was able to share the very best of Usambara´s rich culture!

"I also went on a tour with Said and would HIGHLY recommend him."

​ My boyfriend isn't the most relax traveler and Said made him feel relaxed and safe. Said is sweet, intelligent, and incredibly accommodating! The Usambara Mountain's were by far the highly of our trip! In regards to meals, I would not expect anything grand although it was good. Our lunches were great and I now make the same wrap at home in Canada :) Only one night were we hesitant about what we were eating but we didn't get sick so maybe we worried for nothing. We tend to go vegetarian on our trips so we did avoid all meat.

All in all it was an incredible experience and it will take a lot to top it! Enjoy your adventure!

​​
"Hike the Usambaras with Said Salim - there's no other way"
-----5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Picking what to do in somewhere as rich as Tanzania was always going to be hard. To find such a gem by luck rather than any other means was extraordinary.

The W Usambaras, between Dar Es Salaam and Moshi, have a reputation for beauty and a lovely insight into African life - villages of enthusiastic children fascinated by the presence of us Mzungus, chasing you along your walk as you scale the beautiful hills full of life, colour and farmers tending their vegetables. It's not on the main Tanzania northern tourist circuit, but it is a gem, and all the more so for that reason.

Taking advice from a travel forum, we chanced our arm with a recommendation to take on guide Said Salim.  In excess of 25% of the cost of the trekking goes straight into community projects. We only talked to him by email before leaving the UK, but to find that he met us off the bus as we arrived in Loshoto, guided us to our accommodation, and then talked us through our itinerary for the next 4 days was extremely reassuring. His English (and German and Swahili and various other languages) is exceptional. But nothing compared to his enthusiasm, knowledge of the area and raw talent for story telling, bringing the whole region to life. We hung off his every word. The trekking itself is nothing short of spectacular, ending up in the hill top village of Mtae.

I would recommend Said to anyone thinking of visiting the Usambaras, whether you need him for a day or the full 4.

We spoke to several other groups (the only other groups of tourists there!) about the Usambaras, and all agreed that they are in many ways a far better location than many of the more well known locations such as Kili. Certainly a richer cultural experience.

“Use Said Salim to Experience all the Beauty that the Usambara's have to offer!!!!”  -----5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12th, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days in the Usambara Mountains with a local guide named Said Salim. He operated Usambara Adventures (www.UsambaraAdventures.com) and we are beyond impressed with everything about our trip. We spent a total of 14 days in Tanzania and Said arranged all our transportation, lodging, meals, park fees on Safari, etc, etc. The highlight of our trip was the 5 days we spent hiking through the remote villages of the Usambara Mountains. Beautiful countryside, challenging but doable hiking, absurdly friendly people and our fantastic guide combined to leave us in awe. Said also arranged a 3 day safari for us before be began trekking and the escorted us to a remote ocean side, thatched-roof banda where we rested our tired bodies for 4 days.  HIghly recommended.  Check out www.UsambaraAdventures.com

"Hiking the Usambara mountains"​  -----5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2006

We had a wonderful four nights in the Usambara Mountains hiking with the finest guide possible, Said Salim.  We never knew when he shopped, but somehow Said would always produce fresh chapati and more yummy veggies at lunch time. Luckily, he was willing to share his recipe so that we can try to recreate them at home.



Copyright 2012 by Usambara Adventure Tour and Safari Company
Usambara Adventures
~Tour & Safari Company~

See what others are saying about
Tanzania's Best Full-Service Travel Company